Muse announce new album Will Of The People

17 March 2022, 18:35

Muse in 2022: Dom Howard, Matt Bellamy and Chris Wolstenholme
Muse in 2022: Dom Howard, Matt Bellamy and Chris Wolstenholme. Picture: Press

The trio have previewed their forthcoming ninth studio album with the video to their new track, Compliance.

Muse have announced details of their forthcoming album and have shared the video for the new single Compliance.

The album, titled Will Of The People, will be released on 26th August 2022 and will be their first full length release since 2018's Simulation Theory.

Of the new track, frontman Matt Bellamy says: "Compliance is about submission to authoritarian rules and reassuring untruths to be accepted to an in-group.

"Gangs, governments, demagogues, social media algorithms & religions seduce us during times of vulnerability, creating arbitrary rules and distorted ideas for us to comply with.

"We are not just coerced, we are herded, frightened and corralled to produce a daily ‘2 minutes of hate’ against an out-group of their choosing and to turn a blind eye to our own internal voice of reason & compassion. They just need our Compliance.”

Muse - Will Of The People track listing

  1. Compliance
  2. Liberation
  3. Won’t Stand Down
  4. Ghosts (How Can I Move On)
  5. You Make Me Feel Like It’s Halloween
  6. Kill Or Be Killed
  7. Verona
  8. Euphoria
  9. We Are Fucking Fucked
Muse - Will Of The People album cover artwork
Muse - Will Of The People album cover artwork. Picture: Press

The album, Will Of The People, was produced by Muse and features mixing by multiple Grammy Award winner Serban Ghenea, Dan Lancaster and Aleks von Korff.

Bellamy says of the album: “Will Of The People is influenced by the increasing uncertainty and instability in the world. A pandemic, new wars in Europe, massive protests and riots, an attempted insurrection, Western democracy wavering, rising authoritarianism, wildfires and natural disasters and the destabilisation of the global order all informed Will Of The People."

Muse in 2022: Dom Howard, Chris Wolstenholme and Matt Bellamy
Muse in 2022: Dom Howard, Chris Wolstenholme and Matt Bellamy. Picture: Nick Fancher/Press

He adds: "It has been a worrying and scary time for all of us as the Western empire and the natural world, which have cradled us for so long are genuinely threatened.

"This album is a personal navigation through those fears and preparation for what comes next.”

Will Of The People is available to pre-order now from


Liam Gallagher Performs At Knebworth Park, 3rd June 2022

Hear highlights from Liam Gallagher's Knebworth shows on Radio X

Florence + The Machine - Dance Fever track by track

Florence + The Machine - Dance Fever Track By Track

Oasis played two huge gigs at Knebworth in August 1996

Oasis at Knebworth: the story behind their biggest ever gigs

Listen to Radio X on Global Player: Podcasts, Live Playlists and more!

Songs from 2001... but which ones?

Only an expert can get maximum points on this 2001 lyric quiz!